Audio Trans Art vol. 1

Artists : Charles Dreyfus / Ferdinand Kriwet / Julien Blaine / Bob George / Richard Maxfield / Henri Chopin / Rolf Julius / Milan Knizak / Diana Spodorek
Label : Slowscan, ‘s-Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands
Slowscan vol. 31
Year : 2015
Double LP, black 12″ vinyl in non-gatefold sleeve
Artwork : Paul de Vree
Design : Johnny Van de Koolwijk
Limited edition of 250
€ 29.00
Postage & packing not included

Audio Trans Art vol. 1 is a stunning compilation of sound poetry, musique concrète and electronic music. The double LP covers a wide range of experimental music and poetry in a well-balanced mix of prominent artists and composers of the avant-garde (such as Ferdinand Kriwet, Henri Chopin, Julien Blaine, Milan Knizak and Richard Maxfield) and lesser known artists such as Charles Dreyfus and Diana Spodorek. Highlights of this expert choice of rare recordings by Slowscan’s Jan van Toorn are Ferdinand Kriwet’s ‘Sehtexte No. 14’ and Richard Maxfield’s 7:14 minute long untitled piece of electronic music. Limited edition of 250. Cover art by Flemish artist and poet Paul de Vree (collection Jan van Toorn).

Charles Dreyfus realised in collaboration with Pierre-André Arcand, 17 March 1987, Quebec. Rolf Julius, Milan Knizak,Bob George and Diana Spodorek recorded live at ‘Artists Talking Back To The Media’ November 1985 at Time Based Arts, Amsterdam curated by Ulises Carrion and Max Bruinsma in a live radio broadcast by VPRO radio. Ferdinand Kriwet’s piece recorded by Robert Moran & Howard Hersch at KPFA Studios in 1972. Henri Chopin realised at IPEM and dedicated to Luc Peire. Appeared originally on Slowscan vol. 1.