LAFMS – Blorp Esette Collector’s Edition

sold outVarious artists
Label : Ace & Duce/Transparency
Year : 2011
Tracks: 4 CDs, 91 tracks, 04:44:45
Compilation 4-CD box with a 32-page booklet
Artwork by Don van Vliet (Captain Beefheart) and Ace Farren Ford
€ 30.00
Postage not included

Re-issue on CD of the two Blorp Esette compilation LPs of various artists affiliated with the Los Angeles Free Music Society (LAFMS), which were put together by Ace & Duce in the late 70s. This box contains 4 CDs that were remastered in 2011 by Smegma’s Ju Suk Reet Meate from an earlier 4-CD edition plus additional and previously unreleased material. A wild and beautifully packaged collector’s set about which Tork Lugnitz writes:

Within the confines of the original LPs are some the most famous and memorable of the LAFMS canon: Le Forte Four’s “Japanese Super Heroes”, Joe Potts’ “Heartphase Hotel”, Dennis Duck’s “Evolution Song”, The Reverend Toad-Eater (Rick Snyder of Captain Beefheart’s Magic Band fame) “Alden Street”, the debut of folk legend Electric Bill, early recordings by LAFMS punksters the Child Molesters, ample contributions by Smegma (including a tiny sampling of their collaboration with Wild Man Fischer), a rare track by Henry Kaiser, tracks from LAFMS co-founding groups Ace & Duce and the Doo-Dooettes, original Le Forte Four member and LAFMS co-founder Chip Chapman … plus with the CD version additional tracks not included on the original LPs by the South Pasadena Free Music Ensemble, LAFMS president Jerry Bishop, pervert wino hobo buskers the Hurtin’ Broz and even goth legends Christian Death make appearances as well as a few tracks by compiler Ace Farren Ford, nearly 5 hours of some of the strangest stuff to ever be passed off as music from a Society of soundmakers who have been at it for the past 40 years.

LAFMS - Blorp Esette Collector's Edition